Charlottesville, Virginia – On Saturday, November 18th, 2017 the Kappa Sigma Fraternity International Headquarters was fortunate enough to host almost 40 members of the Ryan Family, along with an impressive list of distinguished guests for the dedication of the Dr. John W. Ryan Library.

The program featured speakers that were close to Brother Ryan, including:
Kevin S. Kaplan (Theta-Zeta, Eastern New Mexico University ’82) Worthy Grand Master 2003-2005, Endowment Fund Trustee, and Kappa Sigma Hall of Honor 2015 inductee.
James T. Morris (Beta-Theta, Indiana University ’62) President of the Indiana Pacers, and the 2010 Kappa Sigma Man of the Year.
Todd R. Wagner (Beta-Theta, Indiana University ’80) Co-Founder of Broadcast.com with Mark Cuban, Founder and CEO of Charity Network, CEO of 2929 Entertainment, recipient of the John G. Tower Award in 2002, and the 2003 Kappa Sigma Man of the Year.
Thomas P. Bishop (Alpha-Beta, Mercer University ’79) Worthy Grand Master 2001-2003, Endowment Fund Chairman, and Kappa Sigma Hall of Honor 2011 inductee.
Kevin D. Ryan (Chi, Purdue University ’75) Son of Dr. John W. Ryan.
Mrs. Pat Ryan, Wife.
The Kappa Sigma Fraternity wishes to thank Pat Ryan for the contribution of Brother Ryan’s Library to the Headquarters. This valued and treasured collection is a significant part of our International Headquarters, and the Dr. John W. Ryan Library will stand perpetuity.
Dr. John W. Ryan was initiated into the Delta-Sigma Chapter at the University of Utah on November 18th, 1950. On that day, one of the most significant leaders that Kappa Sigma would ever know joined the Order.
Brother Ryan was not only an important leader for the Kappa Sigma Fraternity, but was a motivator, mentor, and gifted educator who would have significant impacts on higher education throughout the world.
Brother Ryan served as President of Indiana University for 17 years (1971-1987) and his name was synonymous with the historic Big Ten Institution. He was revered by his students and was treasured by the alumni, faculty, and administration.
Brother Ryan would serve as Interim President at Florida Atlantic University in 1989 and at the University of Maryland at Baltimore in 1994. He was Chancellor of the State University of New York from 1997 through 1999.
Brother Ryan was selected as Kappa Sigma’s 41st Man of the Year for 1975 and would serve on the Supreme Executive Committee from 1981-1987. He was elected to the Kappa Sigma Endowment Fund in 1987 and 2001 serving the positions of Secretary and Treasurer. He served as Worthy Grand Master from 1985-1987.
In 2003, Brother Ryan was inducted to the Kappa Sigma Hall of Honor as a member of the Inaugural Class which included the Five Friends and Brothers, Stephen Alonzo Jackson, and his friend and Brother, Luke J. Schissel.